BRUDERHEIM MAP EDMONTON
Directions: Exit Edmonton on Hwy 16 east, turn onto Hwy 21 north, and continue through Fort Saskatchewan on what becomes Hwy 15 east; turn left at Hwy 45/Range Road 204 and follow Hwy 45 to Bruderheim.
Distance: 61.9 km, or about 52 minutes, from Edmonton.
Info: 780-796-3731; www.bruderheim.ca.
Bruderheim was founded in 1894 by German-speaking immigrants from Vblhynia, Russia. Situated between the North Saskatchewan River and Highway 15, the community has grown in recent years, more than tripling since 1974 due to the growth of nearby petrochemical plants. Today nearly 1,300 people live in this farming community on Lamont County’s western boundary—an area known worldwide for its prize livestock and grain.
Bruderheim came to the world’s attention on March 4, 1960, when a spectacular fireball travelling at 42 kilometres per second detonated north of the town. Farmers within a three-kilometre radius of the blast helped collect the more than 300 kilograms of fragments that bounced off the frozen ground and rebounded into the snow. The largest piece found weighed 31 kilograms. Named “Bruderheim,” the fireball is Canada’s largest known meteorite.
Annual events include Bruderheim Heartland Ag Days (August), with professional chuckwagon and chariot races, children’s events, and tractor pulls, as well as Family Day events, and a Welcome Christmas celebration (November). Visit the Spring Creek Wetland (east end of 50th Avenue) to watch birds, enjoy native plants, and experience a wetland environment. Queen’s Park at the CNR station site (4811—48th Avenue) features a fountain, benches, and flowers. Queen Street and the park are named in honour of Queen Elizabeth II, who visited Bruderheim in 1978, on her tour to open the Commonwealth Games in Edmonton.
Chuckwagon races, Bruderheim Ag Grounds
Bruderheim Moravian Church and Canadian Moravian Museum,
Location: 4707-52nd Avenue, Bruderheim.
Info: The church (and church office) is typically open from 9:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m., Monday through Friday, as well as on Sunday mornings for services in English. Services in the
original 1895 church were once held in German, Norwegian, Russian, and Ukrainian, as well as English. You will find an Alberta government information sign for the church on Highway 15 and some printed information about the Moravians in the church office. Museum hours may fluctuate, so call ahead to book a tour. 780-998-2708; 780-796-3802.
The Bruderheim Moravian church, which is home to a branch of one of the oldest Protestant denominations (dating back to 1457), was established by Andreas Lilge. In 1895, Lilge, a teacher and lay leader in Vblhynia, wanted to bring Vblhynian Moravians to Canada, where religious freedom was guaranteed and Christians could establish communities. Approximately 100 families decided to move, and the first immigrants arrived in 1883. They erected a log church and held the first service in December 1896. The original church has been converted into the Canadian Moravian Museum, which exhibits historical objects related to the Moravian Church’s history in western Canada. In 1995, a new church was added to the site.
Walker School Museum,
Location: 4844-52nd Avenue, Bruderheim.
Info: Open by appointment in summer. 780-975-6789 (Bruderheim Agricultural Society).
This former schoolhouse was built in 1927. Visit this designated Provincial Historic Resource to discover how pioneers worked to make this area their home. You can view pioneer artifacts, blacksmith tools, photos, and school memorabilia.