Copenhagen Subway Map

Buna-Monowitz-Auchwitz III in Copenhagen

The Bergen-Belsen Monument, dedicated on March 23, 1994, was designed by William Astorg.

There are rails and footprints imbedded in the structure, symbolizing the arrival of prisoners to the camp. A central obelisk represents hope. Anne Frank and her sister died at Bergen-Belsen.

The Natzweiler-Struthof Monument was dedicated on November 20, 2004. The monument features a copy of an emaciated figure titled The Lying, sculpted by George Halbour. The original is at the entrance to the camp at Struthof. An emblem with the letters NN is at the center of the monument. NN is an abbreviation for Nacht and Nebel (Night and Fog), a program where Germans captured political prisoners under cover of darkness, never to be heard from again. Natzweiler-Struthof is the only concentration camp located in what now is France.

Copenhagen Subway Map Photo Gallery

Maybe You Like Them Too

Leave a Reply

45 − 36 =