Most-Visited Malls in USA

The following are the most-visited malls in the U.S. (source: Travel + Leisure):

• Mall of America (Bloomington, MN; www.mallofamerica.com): 40 million

• Aventura Mall (Aventura, FL; www.aventuramall.com): 28 million

• Del Amo Fashion Center (Torrance, CA;

www.simon.com/mall/?id=1240): 28 million

Woodfield Mall (Schaumburg, IL; www.shopwoodfield.com): 27 million

Sawgrass Mills (Sunrise, FL; www.simon.com/mall/?id=1262): 26 million

King of Prussia Mall (King of Prussia, PA; www.kingofprussiamall.com): 25 million

Houston Galleria (Houston, TX; www.simon.com/mall/?id=805): 24 million

Palisades Center (West Nyack, NY; www.palisadescenter.com): 24 million

Most-Visited Malls in USA Photo Gallery




Gurnee Mills (Gurnee, IL; www.simon.com/mall/?id=1251): 23 million

Roosevelt Field Mall (Garden City, NY; www.simon.com/mall/?id=102): 22 million

South Coast Plaza (Costa Mesa, CA; www.southcoastplaza.com): 22 million

Tysons Corner Center (McLean, VA; www.shoptysons.com): 22 million

NorthPark Center (Dallas, TX; www.northparkcenter.com): 21 million

Carousel Center (Syracuse, NY; www.carouselcenter.com): 20 million

Crossgates Mall (Albany, NY; www.shopcrossgates.com): 20 million

Hanes Mall (Winston-Salem, NC; www.shophanesmall.com): 20 million

Westfield Garden State (Paramus, NJ;

www.westfield.com/gardenstateplaza/): 20 million

Walden Galleria (Cheektowaga, NY; www.waldengalleria.com): 18 million

Natick Mall (Natick, MA; www.natickmall.com): 17 million

Lakewood Center (Lakewood, CA; www.shoplakewoodcenter.com): 16 million

Memorial City Mall (Houston, TX; www.memorialcitymall.com): 16 million

Mall of Georgia (Buford, GA; www.simon.com/mall/?id=208): 15 million

Fashion Show (Las Vegas, NV; www.thefashionshow.com): 13 million

Freehold Raceway Mall (Freehold, NJ; (www.freeholdraceway.com): 12 million

Scottsdale Fashion Square (Scottsdale, AZ; www.fashionsquare.com): 12 million

Town Center at Boca Raton (Boca Raton, FL;

www.simon.com/mall/?id=144): 11 million

Yorktown Center (Lombard, IL; www.yorktowncenter.com): 10 million

Westfield Southcenter (Tukwila, WA; www.westfield.com/southcenter): 10 million

Northland Shopping Center (Southfield, MI; www.shopatnorthland.com): 8 million

Eastwood Mall Complex (Niles, OH; www.eastwoodmall.com): 8 million

Local Arts and Crafts

Arts and crafts pieces are popular trip souvenirs. According to the USTA, 22% of leisure travelers shop for such items.

Tourists spend as much as $1 billion on Native-American arts and crafts annually. In New Mexico, the average family visiting a pueblo spends $191 on Native-American goods.

An Appalachian State University study estimated there are 739 full-time and 3,369 part-time craftspeople in the western North Carolina mountain region. In the 21-county region, comprised mostly of rural highlands and surrounding Asheville, the production and sales of handcrafts contribute more than $150 million to the region’s economy each year. With attractions like the Blue Ridge Parkway, the Great Smoky

Mountains, and the Biltmore House, more than two million people are drawn to the region annually. According to Rebecca Anderson, director of Handmade in America (www.handmadeinamerica.org), “What people are seeking is a sense of heritage, a sense of place, and they find it here in western North Carolina primarily because of the crafts.”

In West Virginia, Tamarack (www.tamarackwv.com) has been developed as the nation’s first regional retail showcase of handcrafts, fine art, and food. The center’s primary goal is the promotion of West Virginia’s culture and the preservation of the mountain state’s heritage. With over half a million visitors annually, Tamarack is relevant for all 55 counties of the state, garnering $44.7 million in sales of crafts, goods, and services annually.

Maybe You Like Them Too

Leave a Reply

78 − 71 =